Posted in Week 48 July/August 2017 Challenge 7/30/17-8/5/17

Bar, an Experiment

This daily sketch challenge really makes me want to get clever in my subject. Things like a ballet barre, candy bar, or a high bar crossed my mind along with the ordinary, such a crowbar, or implements you find in bars (glasses, bottles, stools, etc.). A bar scene itself is more detail (and people) tha I am ready for, so I searched “abandoned saloons”, aiming for doing the whole building.

I found this photo of just the door and knew right then and there this was what I wanted to do. 

Pencil would have been an obvious medium, but I really anted to work with pen today. Overall, there is a lot of unevenness. It works for this subject, with the old,weathered wood, but it is something I need to work on for future subjects. A lot of experimentation came with adding the details. I wanted it to look as close to wood as I could, but I had to be careful, because so much of the wood pieces are right next to each other. 

I am least happy with the swinging doors (and the bricks, but I am not going to let it bother me, because they are SO close to the edge of the paper, and I KNOW I can do bettter.) I am most happy with the letters (even with the inconsistency) and, oddly enough, the partial window. And… learned a TON.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

