Posted in Week 47 July 2017 Challenge (2) 7/23/17-7/29/17

Bulb

I really like to do dot drawing (aka pointillism). I find it easier to make adjustments and do the shading. It also has a relaxing effect.

This bulb did not turn out quite like I wanted, but I think I know why. Instead of outlining the whole thing, I should have widened the space between dots on the outline, particularly where the ‘shading’ is not as thick. This is not paper I have used with these pens before, so it was interesting to see how they took to each other.

The fact that I did the base sketch without a model and only glanced at an existing dot drawing to get a sense of appropriate shading, is something I am pretty proud of well.

So…a learning experience.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

