Posted in Week45 Photo Sketches 7/9/17-7/15/17

Continuing Quick Sketch Practice

Using photos – mostly from my “abandoned” board on Pinterest, I am going to keep practicing quick sketches. Old do this from life, except it’s really hot and sticky outside, so I do not really want to leave the house. Plus, what’s the point of saving all those photos on Pinterest if I do not do something with them?

Anyhow, my goal is to get quick impressions on paper, not complete and finished studies. Details will be a struggle for me, as evidenced by today’s but I really am trying to simplify, such as with the stones, bricks, and boards on the house.

Model photo:

 Link
Mine:


I had trouble capturing the perspective – the view in the original is low, but I sketched it straight on. I worked center out, and I think that helped with proportions — at least, more than usual. There is nothing for light angle, and although these are quick sketches, that is probably something I need to incorporate…at least a hint, anyway. I do like how I ‘captured’ the slope of the ground.

I probably could also have don something with the space under the porch roof, maybe the foliage. But also maybe not – that might be too much detail, forcing me to add more to the background, and/or not look quite right.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

2 thoughts on “Continuing Quick Sketch Practice

  1. I always marvel at how artists do what they do!
    I take a pencil in my hand, grab that paper and … nothing comes out of it. Except for a couple of haiku maybe. Or some musings. But not drawings. Makes me so jelly.
    I’m following your blog now and looking forward to more of your sketches 🙂
    In the meantime, I’ll go and binge read your previous posts. Ah.. binge reading sketches… Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL! Hope I do not disappoint. I am totally self-taught and not very good. I just wanted to be better. And most of it is poor renditions of others’ work. See….I WANT to be able to sketch landscapes, houses, etc. on my own, but I have trouble drawing what’s in my head. (Partly because the picture in my head keeps changing.) So I look at what others have done. At some point, I hope to graduate to my own.

      Like

Leave a Reply

