Posted in Week 44 Drawing from Life 7/2/17-7/8/17

Not a Leaf

My husband is so funny. He’s called me several times; he’s so excited he cannot wait to call me from China. Unfortunately, that means he sometimes forgets the 13 hour time difference….

In one of his many calls to me today he asked me to be ready with my flute for his class tomorrow. For me: be ready at 7:30 tonight. He wants me to play for his class, which is kind of cool. However, I needed to do some practicing which meant that my sketching did not get done at the time that I normally do. Working quickly, it is rough and not all that good of a drawing, but I guess that makes it a little bit more qualified for rough sketching as I’ve been working on this week, even if it isn’t nature.

It also means that I do not have my iPad keyboard because I had to get my iPad ready in order to present myself through Skype to his students.  So I’m using the microphone dictation, and it’s a little bit weird, and it’s even more difficult for me to organize my words and thoughts.

Anyway, here’s a photo of my subject:


…and my results:


The curves on the headjoint are more difficult to form than your typical curves, but it wasn’t as tough as dealing with all the reflections that I was getting off of the metal. All in all it could’ve turned out worse. (and it looks way better in the photo than it does in real life, per usual)

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

