Posted in Week 41 - Rain 6/11/17 - 6/17/17

Well…Not Every Expeimental Sketch Will Be Good (But It Could Be Worse)

So…yeah. A raindrop – again. My theme might be ambitious as I am running out of ideas.

For today’s experiment I did use a tutorial again. It is by the same person I did the second leaf with drops with last week.

One problem is that not all materials he uses are listed in the description. I thought I had everything, then he pulls out a white charcoal/pastel pencil. Which I do not have. I grabbed the nearest white colored pencil, but it was from my awful set, and it blemished my drop, but I was too far in (and I desperately need a nap as I am still not feeling well to start over. I did move the white spot over and tried to mask with shading but poorly. Even with my better white pencil, the discoloration is terrible.

I think I did get the basic ideas, even if they were not well executed, and I am learning to do some shading/blending with brush, which is new and interesting and applicable in many ways. To make up for the awfulness of the drawing, I made sure to get Opus in – my sketching “helper” who tends to take up all my workspace….. (fun fact: he is currently snoring)

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

