Posted in Week 37 Tea 5/14/17 - 5/20/17

Severe Weather Compromise

Normally on Wednesdays, I’d be doing a quick doodle in my last “class” period of the day due to meetings that’s keep me late, etc. However, we didn’t have an early dismissal for meetings or anything, and I had planned to do something in colored pencil again.

Then the severe weather hit, including a tornado warning. And it was the real deal – thankfully, we only caught just the edge, no injuries or significant damage – not even hail or power outages. The worst was south of us, but again nothing major damage-wise. I did get stuck at the gym when it hit.

When I got home we got a around two but smaller. We’re in the clear now, but I’m SO terrified of storms, that I can’t do anything effective. I can’t focus on a drawing, and my hands are still pretty shaky. I can’t focus on a book, and even TV and video games can’t hold me.

I can’t do NOTHING for my daily art blog, though, so I present to you the very first painting I’ve done in my adult life. It was one of those classes held at a community center – similar to wine and canvas, but without the wine, due to the city ordinance for the location at which it was held.

It’s in acrylic, and actually probably my first acrylic ever. The last painting I had done was back in eighth grade (my high school and college art classes were photography) and was a watercolor version of a photograph I had taken. I was so nervous about screwing it up! I remember being given the first instruction (for the background) and just hovering my brush over the canvas, afraid to make a mark.

It kind of looks like coffee – especially since that style of “steam” is usually associated more with coffee than tea, but it does fit my tea theme….sort of. Close enough for the situation, anyway.


I may or may not be going out with friends tomorrow night –  the plans are still up in the air. Hopefully, I’ll be back tomorrow with colored pencil or possibly pastels, but if we go out,  it’ll be more pen doodling.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

