Posted in Week 37 Tea 5/14/17 - 5/20/17

Back to the Doodle Board

And to make up for yesterday (and the fact that it’s been super simple pen doodles all week, including today since we ARE going out with friends), I did four dooodles: iced tea, a tea bag, what I think is a steeper, and a tray.

They’re all super simple and based off of this image, but I learned quite a bit from all. Of them. I worked specifically on which lines came first to avoid overlaps. This was trick on the iced tea and the tray, but with the tray something just clicked. I thought I wouldn’t figure it out, and it would be all wonky, but I was able to view it in a way that made the process so simple. I felt like I had solved an optical illusion!

No, they’re nothing special, and they are more sloppy than I’d like them to be, but every doodle is a step towards understanding how the lines and proportions work and practice towards the skill of sketching. (And that’s the whole point of this venture.) I didn’t set out to show that I was — or intended to become – a great artist; I just wanted to learn a new skill.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

