Posted in Week 35 Garden 4/30/17 - 5/6/17

Giving Bees A(nother) Chance

OK. So I admit that sketching bees is really more of an accessory to a garden theme. They could be their own week! (I found some really cool sketches done with colored pencils, but I think they’re beyond my present skill level.)

However, after yesterday, I felt like I could do better, so using this link as a model, I gave it another shot.

Although I think I can still do better (I think they’re too angular in places and not rounded enough), they are more successful overall than yesterday.


Charcoal pencil was once again my medium, and I think it was appropriate. I only used the hard” version, and I think areas could have benefitted from the darker effect of “medium” or “soft.” I do wish there was an “extra hard” version — or that I had used a regular graphite pencil – to get the more delicate lines soon the wings. 

No blending was done, which is probably a good choice, although there are segments that may have benefitted from it.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

