Posted in Week 32 Constellation Painting 4/9/17 - 4/15/17

I Solemnly Swear I am NOT Bedazzling this Painting

It’s decision time, and I’ve managed to make ONE of the many. I will not be painting the constellations.

OK, one and a half decisions have been made. I will most likely use the gems for them.

Today, I placed gems on the painting. The colors mean almost nothing. I WILL use red on Betelgeuse (in Orion) and Antares (part of Taurus). I have several sizes of the clear/silver, but many of them are adhesive, and I have to remove them from the sheet, meaning I couldn’t place them and move them around as needed. 

So I used blue on here to indicate smaller stars, where I’ll use smaller gems, or maybe just keep the Sharpie dots. (And when I ran out of blue, I started using green.) The gold indicates the largest/brightest stars, so I’ll use bigger gems. (Though I will double check and possible use gold for a couple of them.)

It was difficult to take photos without glare, but this image is with the gems:

  

Cassiopeia and Orion look pretty good, so I’m less nervous about using these pieces to make the constellations.

After I did this, I then used metallic sharpies (silver for most, gold for the large stars, and bronze for the red. You almost can’t see them, but at least I don’t have to think quite as hard when I do place gems later. I did tilt the painting up to photograph it, but it doesn’t seem to have helped much.

 One difference is that the first version doesn’t have a complete Taurus, but I did add the dots for it.
Now that I see these photos, I’m almost certain on my second decision – to use gems. However, the big question is whether or not to draw the lines….

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

