Posted in Week 32 Constellation Painting 4/9/17 - 4/15/17

Sparkle, Sparkle!

A teacher going to space, Halley’s Comet (1986), and the sparkling stars are what drew me to astronomy in the first place.

I did have to decide if I was going to include a horizon line. Generally, a good rule of thumb for this kind of photography is to include one as it gives a reference point. However, there’s too good a chance of getting glitter on it, and it gives me more flexibility with constellations, so I opted not to.

Step two was adding the background stars, with more in the center for the Milky Way. I applied a layer of Mod Podge (which could probably have been thicker/more even), then went crazy (well, in a well thought out, presorted kind of way) with the glitter. 

Right side up
Upside down
 

It may look like a crazy amount, but if you look at photos (mostly long exposure, yes) of the Milky Way, compared to some, this would be on the conservative side.

Fun fact: while doing this, I fired up the record player and listened the Bangles’ Everything album, which has the tracks “Glitter Years” and “Watching the Sky.”

A generous coating of fixer followed. The plan/hope here is that it will “fix” any loose or slightly loose glitter in place for when I apply the next layer of Mod Podge to seal it all in.

In taking the photos, I had a hard time with glare, but it made me rethink which direction to go. The top image is “right side up” – at least in terms of where I was facing when I painted the background and applied the glitter. The bottom is “upside down.” Although the angle isn’t quite right, but maybe the bottom one looks better. What do you think?

I’m also not sure if I’m painting dots or adding small “gems” for the major constellations – thoughts on that are appreciated as well.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

