Posted in Week 28 Still Life Self Portrait 3/12/17-3/18/17

Still Life Day 5 – Adding Color

This is as I should have expected, but I’m disappointed in myself. It felt like I was just coloring in a coloring book. (Which there’s nothing wrong with, I do it all the time, but it’s not what Im trying to do here.) 


1 – although an attempt was made to minimize detail, there’s too much

2 – oil pastels – probably not the best mediu,

3 – you can still see the pencil lines – I didn”t know what to do: I needed them to stay on track and if I started with the pastels I’d mess up too much – I knew before I even started today that you’d still see most of them

4 – it’s pretty uneven

However……I think I did OK with darker shades in the darker areas, etc. There wasn’t much actual color mixing, either – just in the wood of the metronome and the book directly underneath the green. Both of those use two shades.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

