Posted in Week 28 Still Life Self Portrait 3/12/17-3/18/17

Still Life Day 2- Details and Shadows

Part of my problem is that I have all these tools I want to use, but don’t know how to use, but I’ll never learn if I don’t try, but I’m afraid to (and it turns out terribly) when I do try to use them. A vicious circle.


Today I…

-went over the outline with a 2B graphite stick (terrible idea – one of those tools I’m not really sure how to use)

-went over my graphite stick with an HB pencil which helped define better – especially the darker edges on the metronome – most particularly the one on the right that has the hard shadow net to it

-still with the HB pencil, I added details – the lettering and images on the books (note to self – shade first THEN add the lettering), the lines on the metronome, the thread on the….thread 😜

-then I used a dirty tortillon to do shading (some shading was done early on with the metronome and graphite stick – not happy with the results) — although I want a smooth look to shadows I don’t like how mine always look, so I need to figure out how to do something different that looks right and that I like

I considered doing a tracing today. Mostly, I just don’t know what else to do with this, and I might start from scratch tomorrow or later in the week.  A tracing would save me time. However, since I wasn’t happy with my first basic outline, and to increase my sketching skills, I resisted the urge.

I’m thinking of using color, as I really like that traditional oil painting still life look. But maybe not. I’m not confident enough in colored pencils, of which I have the most color variety, and oil pastels are pretty chunky (and I own fewer shades).

Maybe I’ll try doing something super rough with charcoal sticks. I have to resist the urge for detail, though. (I also need to get better at working left to write, top to bottom AND not dragging my hand through my work. 

I do need to aim some light on it. Today I used just the natural lighting from the window, and maybe something more contrast-y will give me the distinctness I need to work on my shadows.

I dunno. I’m just not sure what to do with this next. (Or at all.)

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

