Posted in Week 26 Potted Plants in Pen (Doodles) 2/26/17 - 3/4/17

Week 26 Doodles: Potted Plants in Pen, A Cactus

Although I’d like to start a still life project, not only do I not think I’m quite ready, but if school is in session, there’s probably not a good time to go for it.  Sometimes I try to squeeze in my daily art if I have some time at the end of the day at school, and I can’t do that if mystill life is set up at home….

For this week, Im using Pinterest-found (of course) inspiration from some plant doodles. The doodling style really appeals to me, but I thought I’d challenge myself a bit. Instead of just doing the outlines, Ill work with my pen set (only four colors) and try to work larger than what was pictured.

Today is a cactus. I’m not personally fond of them, but I did enjoy drawing it. Coloring in the spaces in pen did not seem appealing or like a great idea, so I did tightly packed lines. I’m pretty happy with the results. I do like that unevenness is acceptable in doodling, but I do wish I had done lines on the cactus flower rather than full out coloring it in.


It was quick but detailed and fun to do. I’m tentatively looking forward to this week’s sketches! (Not that I usually don’t, it’s just sometimes I do things for the sake of pushing myself, which is not always enjoyable.)

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

