Posted in Generic Ramblings, Week 21 - The Line Project 1/22/17 - 1/29/17

It’s a Miracle I Still Teach

This week’s topic is a difficult time in my life.

I don’t want to go into details. It’s a chapter of my life that I have put behind me and moved on from. 

My first year of teaching was hell. I was two weeks home from the hospital after a terrible car accident, but I plowed ahead anyway. I walked into that classroom a victim.

The school is not known for its stellar student behavior. Heck, I got the interview and job offer in early summer, which is not a good sign. That usually means someone left abruptly….or no one else wanted it.  Combine that with my victim appearance and actual physical weakness, and it was a recipe for disaster. Most of the staff were two-faced back-stab ears, I reached no one, and the students’ behavior was deplorable. The discipline ship sailed long before I could get it under control.

Yet, even after leaving that post, I tried elsewhere. I stuck with it. I can’t tell you the specific lessons I learned, but I certainly gained something. The next three years, in a different district, were fantastic. Sure, there were issues, and the second year was somewhat rough, but I wa stronger and had a fresh start. I only left because a job in my husband’s district – a better school – opened up. I didn’t seek to leave and would have stayed if my current position remained unavailanble.

I could have given up. Heck, the administration at that first school intimated that maybe this wasn’t the best career choice for me. But here I am. It’s not all sunshine and roses, and some days I wonder the same thing, but even when I soul. Search I can’t think of anything else realistic that I would do.

Here’s to clean slates!

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

