Posted in Generic Ramblings, Week 20 Gates (1/15-20/17)

“Collecting Is More Than Just Buying Objects” – Eli Broad

Yes, I’ve seen Hoarders. And yes, I know and understand the quote, “Collect moments, not things.”

And I do have a problem, but it’s under control. 

The thing is, I can attach sentiment to anything. Try me. That broken (cheap) Care Bear bank from when I was a kid. Yup – it’s still around somewhere. 

That out-of-style, too-big turtleneck sweater? It’s still in the drawer. (I got engaged in it!)

I did a huge clear out last spring, because I was tired of so much stuff. I did manage to get rid of about 70% of it or more, but there are a few items such. as what is listed above.

But this blog isn’t about hoarding. It’s about collections. If you collect things that interest you, that you have an authentic passions for, it can help transform your home into a place that really reflects who you are and what you care about. That doesn’t mean go overboard – you don’t need to cover every surface and. wall. There’s something to be said about space. If you leave space, what you collect can stand out more.

We didn’t even know my grandmother was basically a hoarder until we cleared out her house. Every cupboard was jammed full of her collectible plates an figurines. The thing was, though, she rotated what was out on display, and that’s pretty close to balance and what I personally try to do. 

Here are the things I collect the most:

-books (and yes, I do actually read them)

-old crochet hooks

-glassware, especially teacups and tea pots

-Coca-Cola memorabilia

-Titanic memorabilia

-flutes (and yes, I do actually play [most of] them

-figurines of angels playing flute (though mostly that is a gifted collection not something I buy myself…mostly)

When I was a kid I was really into stamps, and my collection is still at my parents’ house. I don’t have anything super valuable in that collection, but one highlight is a book of space stamps (with illustrations and captions, etc.) that my Grampa gave to his brother (or vice-versa – I’d have to check). It’s stamps. And space. And it has that family connection.
I was also into fans (I really wanted those lacy old-fashioned things but mostly got those paper ones) … and masks …. I wanted to collect carousel horse figurines, but I managed one figurine and one (Girl Scout) ornament that was a cookie selling prize. I really wasn’t into it all that much.

Speaking of Girl Scouts, I earned (collected) TONS of badges. And on a related note, I’d really like to earn (collect) as many pins for Astronomical League observation awards. I have one so far – the Lunar I.

I really like old things, and some times I wonder if that means I was born in the wrong decade. Then when I think about what other decades were like, I really don’t think I would be able to handle it. At least, not with knowing what I know now or living like I now do.

Most would agree that what we collect really shows a lot about our personality. I don’t know what all those things say about me. You’re welcome to draw your own conclusions and let me know.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

