Posted in Generic Ramblings

Bucket List Rebellion

TBH, I’m not really a bucket list person. There’s stuff I want to do/have, and I like lists, but putting them together really makes it a commitment. Some people are into that kind of thing. For me, and this topic, that’s a lot of pressure, and if I fail to do the things on my list, I’ll feel worse than if I hadn’t put them down.

In addition, anything can happen. I debated doing a 2017 list vs doing a lifetime list. I could die in a car crash tomorrow and neither list would be complete. A year list is more achievable, but a lifetime list, though long-term to achieve, allows for bigger stuff.

Although I settled on a lifetime list and have been pondering what to put on it all day (and yesterday….and the day before…), I don’t think I’m going to make one. Sure, I’ll keep track of stuff I want to do/have (go to Europe [part of which will happen next year], have a kid, have a legacy, own a Mini Cooper, for example) in my bullet journal, but I’m not going to make some list.

Here’s the thing. I’m not a, “if it feels good, do it,” person, but I also think that because we change, so do goals and wants. Sure, I want to go to Europe. Technically, I’ve done it, as I went to France in high school, but that doesn’t mean I cross it off my list. Heck, the summer of 2018 I’ll add to European countries I’ve been to, but it’s still not complete. But if I don’t go to, say, Germany, before I die, I’d be OK with that.

Planning is good and making sure we allow time to do the things we really value is important, but those values might change, and I’m terrible at it, but we should go with that change. And we should be flexible and allow for some “life in the moment.” If I’m saving for a Mini Cooper, but a close friend wants to do a weekend road trip, which will cost me some of the money I’m trying to save, I shouldn’t deny that. (That’s a terrible example – a thing vs friend time – replace Mini Cooper with family trip to Hawaii.)

That doesn’t mean a bucket list is a bad thing. A lot of people put stuff on there that’s once-in-a-lifetime experiences. (Like, cliff diving, or eating some weird food you’d only try once, or something. I’m not sure, which is why it was hard for me to come up with anything.) And I think those are good.  

Big idea here: bucket lists aren’t terrible but they’re not for me. Have big ideas/plans and do them while you can. But allow yourself some flexibility and don’t lost track of small opportunities because your focus is on some list.

Now…to backtrack a little on what I’ve written, here are some things (both big and small, both year-achievable and lifetime) that I’d like to do:

-learn flute repair

-travel: Ireland, Scotland, France (again), England, Czech Republic

-teach my dog some of those advanced tricks that are cool to see

-earn the state fair president’s award for crochet

-become proficient at mandolin

-see a solar eclipse

-master the use of my telescope

-complete the dogwood 52 week photography challenge

-start or join a legit flute choir

-design something in crochet

-50th wedding anniversary

-retire early

-see the Pacific Ocean

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

