Posted in Week 16 - A Christmas Carol (12/18/16-12/24-16)

Stave III – The Second of the Three Spirits

This is why I don’t draw people…..

It was unavoidable. I did use a poster for the Disney (not Mickey) movie, though I changed some bits. Thanks to Lamp Week I felt decent about the lamppost, even without a ruler, and the wreath isn’t too bad. I’m not sure it truly represents the quote as I don’t really show the weather, but I tend to muddy my backgrounds and didn’t want to risk that.

The silhouettes aren’t terrible, but boy are they dwarfed by that lamp! However, any larger and their lack of faces is exacerbated. It’s a start, anyway, and at some point I do need to start drawing people….

There was nothing very cheerful in the climate or the town, and yet was there an air of cheerfulness abroad that the clearest summer air and brightest summer sun might have endeavored to diffuse in vain.

For, the people who were shoveling away on the housetops were jovial and full of glee.


One things that has been tough is to choose just one moment from each stave. Each one has so many, and Dickens clearly spent a lot of time carefully crafting each chapter and each scene. (Check out the manuscript editions of this book.)

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

