Posted in Week 15 - Christmas (12/11/16 - 12/17/16)

He’s Not Parson Brown, but He’ll Do

Well…he’ll do as a snowman, not to get married by.


I’m learning something, though. I always try to look for good models, and I love working with oil pastels. Unfortunately, most of what I find is “kid stuff.” Don’t get me wrong, that kid stuff has steered me right in many ways, and it has helped me gain some skill.

However, my little guy up there really does look like a crayon drawing. A decent one, yes, but still a crayon drawing. And I knew that oil pastels were basically slightly grown-up crayons, but it really only hit me today. And now I understand why it’s not seen much except in mixed media.

I can live with that, but unless I’m doing something bigger (like my farmland landscape, for example) I’m thinking my sketches need to be in fine-point mediums.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

