Posted in Generic Ramblings

Winning the Lottery


Look. I’ll be honest. I don’t (exactly) hate what I do. Sure, there’s stuff that really sucks about teaching, but there’s even more that doesn’t. And what DOES suck has less to do with teaching than with those governing bodies that think they know how education should be run …. but really have no clue and act only as PR.

That being said, if I didn’t have to work, I wouldn’t. There are a handful of more exotic jobs out there that I might prefer to teaching, but lack the full training or geographical flexibility to follow on. (For example: building puppets for Jim Hensons Creature Shop.)

First off, I haven’t purchased a lottery ticket in my life. I’ve received a couple of scratch tickets in birthday cards, etc., but that’s about it. Heck, when my husband and I went to Vegas, we spent a dollar each on penny machines. And the only reason we were playing was so that we could sit while waiting to get into a Cirque Du Soleil show.

However, were I to. receive a windfall, from the lottery for example, my first order of business wold be to quit working. OK, I might wait out the end of the school year, just to keep my contract intact, and thus my license – just in case – but I’d probably call in a lot, take all my personal days, etc. I know I’d certainly try to “phone it in” with lessons, etc., but I also know myself too well. I have too much work ethic for that, and cant not do a good job, no matter how hard I try. (And I do…almost every Friday…yet I still can’t just stop working at work. I can’t.)

That would allow me to check finances to make sure I could actually quit. Id want to pay off the hosue. Or, even better, get the hosue in salable condition and find a new one. Big idea, though: pay off all loans, etc.

Ideally, we’d work it for neither my husband nor myself would have to work. If that wasn’t doable, and I was really really nice, Id keep working while I let my husband quit – or at least until he found something he likes a lot better.

What would I do with my free time? Whatever I wanted. It’d be all on my mood – but I’d certainly be devoting more time to all the hobbies I love: music, drawing, crochet, astronomy, etc. I’d catch up on all those Netflix and TV shows I’m behind on or have always wanted to watch but didn’t have the time to invest. (Im looking at you, Supernatural…)

Travel? Sure. But only if I can take my husband with me…and he’d have to come to Europe. Yes, I’m going in 2018 but I want to see England, Germany, Czech Republic, and I really want to return to France. My husband shows almost no interest in them. I know money is part of it, but he not want to visit places hot and tropical.  I don’t belong in those places. I’m not against them, but my northern European skin and fair hair is.

Most of this does. Seem like a waste of time/life. (With the exception of the travel.) Seriously, though, I’ve worked my tail off. I’m only 28 years old, but I’ve been putting in 14+ hour days (including most Saturdays and a few Sundays) for the last 16 years. And I know Im not alone. But those days are full of mounds of paperwork that can never be caught up on, politics, difficult kids, difficult parents, minimal pay for what is being asked, unrelenting pressures, juggling about a million tasks at once, a thousand mandates and reforms, and government breathing down my neck. Most of those days I don’t even see the sun. 

I’m tired. And no one should be this tired when they have so much life left.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

