Posted in Week 14 - Medieval for Madrigal 12/4/16 - 12/10/16

Forget a Prince, Someday My Shading Skills Will Come

For someone whose major (one of two) was theater/speech comm, this is pretty sad. I should be better at basic costumes than this.


Yikes! Those sleeves! The one on the right wa OK until I decided shading would be good. The one on the left was always a mess.

The overall shaping isn’t bad, and I like how the skirt part came out…again, until I ruined it with shading. I am learning, though. My first attempt made it look like it fit someone short and dumpy. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. (Forgive me my word choice because at one point I myself could have been described as dumpy – I fixed that, but I’m still short.) 

It didn’t take a lot of thought for me to figure out how to fix that for a taller, more graceful figure. I did try to make it too skinny in the waist, so that didn’t look right, but I still managed to balance it. It’s good that I can recognize that decision-making, even if the execution isn’t totally pulled off.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

