Posted in Week 13 - Christmas Trees (11/27/16 - 12/3/15)

A Simpler Style

Christmas trees allow me a lot of flexibility – even though I have my own personal preference for them, I’m inspired by so many images. They’re modern and classic and everything in between. I’m not a fan of anything overly elaborate, but there are various levels of detail in what I like. And all the mediums! Acrylics, watercolor, chalk, pen, etc.! It’s giving me so much to try!

Many that I’ve tagged on Pinterest are very simple, indeed. Today’s was modeled after a watercolor handmade Christmas card that I have rendered in colored pencil. I used my Prismacolor, although trying the watercolor pencils might have been a good idea. However, it’s not something I’m skilled at – I’ve only just “swatched” (for lack of a better word, I’m borrowing from crochet), and I think my sketch would have lost its crispness.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

