Posted in Week 12 Thanksgiving (11/20/16 - 11/26/16)

Shifting Gears & Changing Plans – Trying Something New for Thanksgiving Week, Part 1: To Grandmother’s House

Up to this point I’ve chosen an isolated thing – or a scene on a rare occasion – and did that one thing for a day and called it good. Now, I’ve tossed around the idea of setting up a still life and doing the still life throughout the week, adding parts of the sketch, or color, etc. and posting my progress, but I haven’t taken the plunge yet.

After looking for inspiration for things to draw for Thanksgiving, I’m just not feeling inspired. Sure, I can find coloring book pages to model after, but the pilgrim and native American images are far from accurate and/or too cartoony-y. I’ve done pumpkins. I already did a turkey. A cornucopia is OK, but that’s about all I found that I was even moderately interested in. And, of course, I’m short on my own ideas.

(Although…doing a cornucopia every day in different mediums is an intriguing idea, but oh well, I’ve already started on my new plan.)

After searching the phrase “Over the River and Through the Woods” (I love that song!) I did find a set of quilting panels someone embroidered to make a quilt out of. (They put them in the center and did a log cabin pattern around it, for those of you who are into the quilting thing. Here’s a link to their blog about it: https://budsgram.blogspot.com/2011/01/over-river-and-through-woods.html) There were several great images, but this one is (probably) within my sketching grasp. Heck, as you can see from the image, I have a lot of real estate at the bottom and may integrate parts from some of the ot her panels.

I will add to the image each day, but here is what I have so far:


I’m starting with a basic pencil outline. The snow-covered trees have been a bit of a hassle. I’ll have a river with a bridge to the right…and more trees. One thing that attracted me to this was the need to NOT sketch a horse-drawn sleigh (with or without people in it). I feel pretty confident in the sleigh, but not so much the people and the horse even less so. I plan on getting the base of the remaining image tomorrow.

After that, not sure. I realized I have a set of willow charcoal, so I might give that a whirl. (After tracing this on tracing paper. If I screw it up, I don’t want to have to redo such a large sketch from scratch.) I also haven’t used oil pastels in a while, and I haven’t tried chalk pastels yet, but this may not be a good time for that… More likely than not, I’m going to stick with a grayscale image – probably going over it in graphite or charcoal.

And if I finish in fewer days than are left in the week, maybe I WILL do a cornucopia or too. I did get myself some black sketch paper, and Im eager to try it out!

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

