Posted in Generic Ramblings

Impossible Task: My Best Physical Feature

This week, the topic thrown at me was my bet physical feature.

Now, I’ve never had really strong self-esteem,  but I’m at a place in my life where I no longer stare into a mirror and hate what I see. Still, I don’t think I’m anything special, and I have mixed feelings about celebrating physical attractiveness. On the other hand, I think it’s important to like who you are and how you see yourself.

Here’s an old photo of me, and although difficult to see, it represents three of my features that I find to be my best.


1. My eyes – I think they’re a really interesting color. They’re like the blue version of hazel. The closest color is gray, but that’s not entirely accurate. Depending on the light, my clothes, my mood, sometimes they are more blue or more green. I don’t mean to brag, but I always thought the quote from The Princess Bride really fits them: “eyes like the sea after a storm.”

2. My hands – They’re not really much to look at. I have large knuckles, odd bumps and scars and road rash (more on that in a minute), and they’re really starting to show where they will be very wrinkled, which is scaring the heck out of me. BUT…these hands do amazing things. For example,they play flute and make intricate crochet pieces, like this one: 


3. My scars – This is going to be weird but also cliche. What I mean is that people place scars in one of two categories. In the first, they want to hide them, see them as ugly, etc. Which is why it’s weird that I picked them as a best physical feature. In the other, people are proud of them because they stand for overcoming some sort of adversity. This is a bit more cliche, and mine aren’t quite that extreme. I was in a car accident approximately 15 years ago, sliced up my head and left arm and broke my left hand in three places. I was terrified I’d never play flute or crochet again. Thankfully, I’m a super healer. It was also my first year teaching, and I walked into my first classroom only two weeks from the accident…into one of the worst years of my life. Yet here I am, and every terrible thing that school and those kids put me through set me up for later success, and I’m in a much better place.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

