Posted in Week 10 - Flowers (11/6/16 - 11/12/16)

A Fresh Start with Casablanca Lilies, or What a Difference Good Tools Make

This still hold true: I suck at art. But boy, do these new Prismacolor pencils make a difference! 

They draw so smoothly; they blend so easily. You can sharpen them WITHOUT breakage!!!! They are dreamy. This was my first time using them, straight from a brand new package, and I wish I had purchased the BIG box with ALL the colors, even at over $100. I used a total of six colors of my 72, and that’s how awesome these are! They. Are. Worth. Every. Penny.

And no, I haven’t had a chance to play with the watercolor aspect of the other pencils-that-shall-not-be-named, but I do plan on it. Given the above review, that may seem backward. However, it’s a different technique, one that I’ve never tried, and it’s best to experiment with something you have (and/or isn’t a big cost) before investing in something better and more high quality.

Now, for the critique. This was a simpler image, but I should have just stopped with the top flower and quit while I was ahead. I don’t know if it was the angle, the instructions (they aren’t as clear for the bottom bloom), or just that once I finished the top one successfully that I got overconfident and rushed, or what, but it just doesn’t look as good to me.

The top is just more distinct, although the “stripe” is too exact for me (and reality). They’re also too straight, so they do not emphasize the shaping of the petals. The green shading at the base of the petals does look better on the bottom flower, but the top one has more distinct petals and pistils. Neither has a good sense of depth, from what I can tell.

I truly believe that a tool is only as good as the person using them, but there is something to be said for not using crappy materials. I should have known this already, because it’s true in crochet (at which I am an expert) as well. If you’re a beginner and you use thread/yarn that is too small, too fluffy, or splits, you get discouraged easily. It’s not that much different here. If you use sub-par pencils that break or don’t blend, you get frustrated and discouraged, and it’s more difficult to see that you’re making progress.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

