Posted in Week 10 - Flowers (11/6/16 - 11/12/16)

Here’s to You, Uncle John!

Uncle John was a happy-go-lucky (though troubled) man who passed away in a tragic accident several years ago. When he was a kid, apparently his nickname was Johnny Jump-Up, which so happens to be the name of today’s flower.  (Although it looks like a pansy to me, but what do I know?)


Thankfully, it turned out pretty well. Uncle John would have been pleased regardless, though he’d much prefer me to crochet him something. Had it not turned out half-decent, though, this would be titled differently.

I probably should sharpen my terrible pencils, but they will break, so I haven’t. I did notice they are watercolor pencils, so I’m going to research if that might take a different technique. Maybe the problem is not the pencils but user error.

The veins on the petals (not the leaves) turned out better, though the shading is a bit rough. I’m having trouble with the centers of these flowers. To me, they look muddy. The lighter edged petals are a bit too exact, but I can live with it. The depth is not where I’d like it to be, but I only have two shades of purple, so I had to work with that.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

