Posted in Week 9 - Candy (10/30/16 - 11/5/16)

Sci-Fi Saturday, British Style

I’ve mentioned before my love of Doctor Who and spending my Saturday evenings watching British sci fi, also including Red Dwarf.

A few weeks ago I saw a video of people trying British candy, including licorice all sorts. I’ve heard of these and I do like licorice (yes, even black), and it became my mission to find it.

No luck, here in the midwest, particularly in the retail black hole of where I live. Amazon.com to the rescue! (It’s how I get all my “exotic” Oreo flavors, so why not?)

I gotta tell ya, I’ve only tried two of them, but I really like them and will be enjoying them as I watch my Brit TV tonight.

I did draw from life, not even a photo of life. As a drawing, I am not happy with my work. However, even though I found the candy more difficult to draw than expected, drawing from life wasn’t as bad as I thought. I probably picked a pretty good subject to give this a try. My original plan was to get a Crunchie bar and drawing that from life, and I don’t think I could have done it half as well.

My biggest complaint is how the bowl turned out, but I did have angle and shading issues as well. On the whole, the candy itself was drawn OK.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

