Posted in Week 9 - Candy (10/30/16 - 11/5/16)

Week 9 – Candy

For this week, I will draw from life whenever possible (but I am NOT buying a candy bar every day, because my waistline cannot handle that). I will use whatever medium seems best, though it’s highly likely it will mostly be colored pencil, maybe oil pastels, but I’ll play it by ear.

Today is one of my favorite candy bars: The Zagnut. I had never heard of this until I saw Beetlejuice, then it became a mission to locate one. (Some candy is hard find around here. A Mars bar is another example of this, and I really like Mars. Zero bars are another one, though more common.)

If you’ve never had one, a Zagnut is like a Butterfinger but instead of being covered in chocolate, it’s dusted with toasted coconut. It tastes better than I can draw, I promise.

I did draw with the actual physical object in front of me today, which I always find difficult. The logo gave me more trouble than I expected. I had never noticed the angles before (such as the A), but mostly it had to do with width and size consistency. I did try to get the wrinkles and shadowing in, but I missed the mark.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

