Posted in Week 8 - Halloween: Spooky Graveyards (10/23/16 - 10/29/16)

End of the Graveyard Quest 

Today’s sketch is a later sequel to yesterday’s.

I am pleased with how it turned out, but it didn’t come easy. I guess I haven’t really figured out how to use graphite sticks and can’t help but think that a pencil sketch would have been considerably easier.

Although I did fail to plan and pre-sketch it lightly, I did learn from previous errors. There is a background to this – mostly rocks and some trees, though not to the extent of yesterday’s image, so I left it out 

Graphite was also a better choice than charcoal, because it allowed me to do finer details. (Unless I had chosen to use graphite pencils, but I think that would have been too heavy as well.) It did still give me some problems in where I placed lines – it was hard to be exact. It did give me shading trouble, but I think that would have happened regardless. I am starting to get the hang of the kneaded eraser.

So, as these shadows of darkness falls, so too does my week of spooky graveyards leading up to Halloween.


Since we haven’t hit the holiday just yet, I’m thinking that next week’s theme might be candy. Although I don’t like to carrry things past a holiday, this is fitting with all the candy leftovers.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

