Posted in Week 7 - A Few of My Favorite Things (10/16/16 - 10/22/16)

Week 7 – A Few of My Favorite Things

My birthday is this week. (Yay!) 

As such, being a person who struggles wtih positivity and is always working on it, I am especiallly determined to be positive in the near-birthday time. 

So thi week, I will be sketching things that make me happy, using a variety of mediums. I may even throw in a photograph or two, as I’m quasi-participating in the Dogwood 52 Week Photography Challenge. http://dogwood.photography/52weekchallenge.html This week is minimalism, and I actually have an idea for it! (I’ve been struggling with subject ideas since late February or so.)

Today: Fall


Our leaves here really haven’t done a lot of color changing lately, but they’re getting there. This was the most colorful of leaves I found on my dog walk the other day. I was hoping for more red, but we’re not there yet. 

I think it’s just been too wet these last few weeks. Usually things are turning brown by my birthday, so I think I’m in luck! We’re also expected to be back in the 70s – a true “Indian Summer.” That’s also unusual. Sixties are typical, and rain is common. (It has rained on my birthday more than it has not.)

I have a hard time drawing from life. If it’s a picture or a photograph, I have a much easier time seeing in shapes, which I find nearly impossible when working from an actual object. Also, having spent a week in pen, my shading skills are a bit rusty, but it turned out OK — better than most “from life” sketches in any medium, so I’m not complaining.

Why do I love fall? Welll, my birthday, of course,  but the colors, the “just right” weather (even with Reynard’s I prefer to be just slightly cold), the pleasant rains (instead of storms) – perfect for curling up with a good book with some hot chocolate or apple cider. I love the smell of burning autumn leaves, all the apple varieties (and what you can bake with them) that appear in the stores, and pumpkins.  There’s also a soft glow at dusk; right after the sun sets, and all the houses have their lights on but curtains still open, and I just find it incredibly peaceful.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

