Posted in Week 6 - Houses in Pen (10/9/16 - 10/15/16)

A Bit More Detail – Pen Sketch House #7

It didn’t turn out as well as I would have liked, but it really looks like my model was a pencil sketch. (Or at least a pen sketch from someone with WAY more ability than me.) 

[Link to the model here: https://goo.gl/images/n4GAob] I went to the main site it was from, but the artist has TONS more recent work, and I couldn’t find it.

Here’s my version:


Even with its flaws, I liked it better before I put the tree branch and the woodworking details in. I’m glad I put partial rather than full slats in. That’s based on the artist’s image, nut at the same time, this doesn’t look very good to me. It’s probably because I suck at art, but it also didn’t look correct when blank. I also should have continued my ruler use into the windows, etc. and not just the overall shape.

All in all, there ARE some things I like about it. Some of the small details , like the curtains, turned out pretty well. The shading on the roof was almost what I was going for, and I’m pretty pleased with most of the foliage. (Although I should have done the finder lines first, then the heavier ones. I was going for depth. In reality, the darker ones would be behind, but on paper, it didn’t look very good.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

