Posted in Week 3 - Drinkware 9/18/16 - 9/24/16

Mrs. Dawby’s Terrible Horrible No Good Very Bad Day, Drinkware #6

The title actually has little to do with the drinkware sketch, other than to say I feel like I’ve earned this wine (all 4oz of it) tonight. (It’s a local wine: the white version of “Masquerade” from the Van Wijk Winery in Solon, IA.)
Again, disclaimer: drinking is not a solution or escape from my problems.
As a teacher, I am bound to confidentiality, anyway – I just have one turd in one class that can ruin my day in less than five minutes, and today was no exception. The rest of the day wasn’t too much better, but it really did boil down to lots of little annoying parts of life that happened all at the same time. Individually, or even in pairs, these small things are no big deal, but I got a hurricane of them today.
However, that’s where I’ll leave it. This blog was created to hold me accountable for sketching every day in my quest to become better at it, not to rant. 


Stemware is the bane of my existence on this theme.  Although I sketched from a further distance, the viewing angle of the subject is about accurate. The one on the right was my first attempt. It was OK until I tried to work with shading, etc. The left image, I am happy with but something doen’t seem quite right. I do wish people who know more than me (AKA, almost anyone) would comment and give me tips, but even the act of sketching every day — and even retrying on the same day — is beneficial.

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

