Posted in Week 3 - Drinkware 9/18/16 - 9/24/16

Coffee Talk – Week 3: Sipware and a New Goal

This week I will be drawing drinkware. Although today’s installment has a very poor attempt at using colored pencils, the New Goal this week is to draw from life – no Pinterest images or Google Image searches allowed! (Full disclosure, there is a chance I will photograph the drinkware and sketch from that, especially if I am not able to to just sit and draw…or if I want to include the beverage it’s holding.)

I’ll use what medium strikes my fancy, although let’s be honest, it’s probably going to be pencil sketching.

Today I did take a stab at colored pencils. The base of the mug turned out OK, despite where I accidentally started shading with the same finger I shaded the plain pencil drawing. We won’t talk about the handle or the mouth. The soft pencil version isn’t completely horrible. (Maybe I am getting better!) Capturing a sense of dimension is going to be tough for me.


I left Daffy Duck out for copyright and skill level purposes. It’s my favorite mug: the perfect size, my favorite cartoon character, and it has a nice gentle rounding at the lip and handle. It’s easy to wrap my hand around it, and it’s perfect for my Keurig.

Today’s beverage was coffee I picked up while chaperoning students in Boston, MA last April. (But it’s from South Carolina. You can find it here, along with tea and other related items. http://www.oliverpluff.com/) I’m not as fond of the flavored variety, but the Colonial Blend is delightful. It’s a basic black coffee, not too strong, not too mild, but with full flavor. I use half-and-half in it instead of creamer, and it’s the only coffee I use actual sugar in, as opposed to some sort of sugar substitute. (Yes, I know that stuff is bad for you, but it was an easy way to drop a few calories without sacrificing flavor, and it’s only two packets a day.)

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

