Posted in Week 1 - Windows (9/4/16 - 9/10/16)

Window #2

Good practice, or at least one form of it, would have me do yesterday’s sketch again. I know that valence is too short and some of the folds don’t make sense. I could also try it in a new medium, such as charcoal, pen, or pastel. I DO want to learn those mediums, and I probably will revisit some themes, but I’m not there yet.

Except for the Pentecoastal church a block over, the windows in my neighborhood are pretty boring, at least from the outside. (And while I have nothing against the aforementioned church or its people, I don’t want to stress about being invited in, were I to hang out on their lawn sketching.) Yesterday’s sketch was based on a line drawing that surfaced in a Google search. Today’s was taken from a photograph collage I found on Pinterest. 

[True confession time: many of my ideas will come from or be adapted from something on Pinterest.]

It was more difficult to draw from a photo but in a good way. It did have plants, and I know those aren’t up to par, but the goal was the window, and I feel pretty good about it. I tried a bit of blending and am not totally unhappy with it. Here is my humble submission:

Author:

I'm a humble little Anglophile with obscure talents.

Leave a Reply

